Coveted Space

My sons might be ignoring me
across the space of the kitchen and family room.

In the minutes that just passed,
they had shared only glaring complaints
and intrusions into coveted space
in the struggle to get teeth brushed
and clothes exchanged for pajamas.

Now they have settled next to each other,
one reclining deep into the corner of the couch,
slowly turning a page,
and pulling on a fingernail with his teeth;
the other kneeling up to the cushion,
working the pieces of a wooden box puzzle,
alternatively holding his breath and exhaling with concentration.

I’ve called them to bed
but can’t repeat myself.
The silence brushes my skin
as I stand absorbed and unmoving.

2 thoughts on “Coveted Space

  1. Quirina

    I do like the way you express what you observe. Just like observing thoughts in our minds when we meditate. “Silence brushing my skin” is so present and beautiful.

    Reply
    1. bussokuseki Post author

      Thank you so much. I actually struggled the most with that phrase, or more to the point struggled the most with trying to convey that moment. So I am especially grateful.

      Be well~

      Reply

Share your thoughts

